Some common known facts about Russia:

Area: 17 million km square

Population: 143 million people

Main language: Russian

Capital: Moscow

President: Vladimir Putin

Premier-minister: Dmitri Medvedev

Telephone code: +7

Currency: 1 ruble = 100 kopeeks; 1 dollar =30 rubles; 1 euro = 40 rubles

Climate: moderate continental

Temperature in July (in Moscow): +25 0C

Some useful phrases in Russian:

Hello! = Zdravstvuite!

How do you do? = Kak dela?

My name is… = Menya  zovut…

What time is it? = Skol’ko vremeni?

How can I go to…? = Kak proiti v…?

Good bye! = Do svidaniya!

Excuse me! = Izvinite menya!

Thank you! = Spasibo!



Russia (also officially known as the Russian Federation) is a country in northern Eurasia. It is a federal semi-presidential republic, comprising 83 federal subjects. At 17,075,400 square kilometres, Russia is the largest country in the world, covering more than one-eighth of the Earth's inhabited land area. Russia is also the world's ninth most populous nation with 143 million people as of 2012. Extending across the whole of northern Asia, Russia spans nine time zones and incorporates a wide range of environments and landforms. Russia has the world's largest reserves of mineral and energy resources and is the largest producer of oil and natural gas globally. Russia has the world's largest forest reserves and its lakes contain approximately one-quarter of the world's fresh water.

The Russian economy is the world's ninth largest by nominal GDP and sixth largest by purchasing power parity, with the 3rd largest nominal military budget. Russia is one of the world's fastest growing major economies. It is one of the five recognized nuclear weapons states and possesses the largest stockpile of weapons of mass destruction. Russia is a great power and a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council, a member of the G8, G20, the Council of Europe, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, the Eurasian Economic Community, the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), the World Trade Organisation (WTO), and is the leading member of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Language panel